top of page
Search

Busy Bee

I don’t know if I’m ever going to get used to my classes here in Christchurch. I don’t usually start class until three or four in the afternoon, and I’m done by six. It’s also crazy that my classes don’t really have homework. The class layout just has group projects, presentation, or exams before the final. This means I have a LOT of “free” time. So far I’ve spent this time wandering the city, working out, or going to the beach.


This past week my roommates and I took a day and went to Sumner Beach. It was supposed to be sunny and almost eighty. Instead, we got cloudy and upper seventies, which is perfectly fine with me! I don’t have much to complain about since I skipped out on half of the winter back in Iowa. Compared to last week’s beach in Dunedin, the beaches in Christchurch are quite different. They are covered in tree branches and other wood, along with being black sand instead of white. Personally, I prefer white sanded beaches. I’m just happy to be near a body of water, though. I’ve always felt happier when I’ve been near water. I don’t know why, but water calms me more than anything else. I feel at peace near it.



After the beach we went to one of our new favorite places, Utopia Ice. This is a local ice cream shop that has dairy-free ice cream and unique flavors. Personally, my favorite is the strawberry and rose flavor. The popcorn and caramel is also a good choice.


Saturday, one of my roommates, or flatmates as they are called in New Zealand, went to the Holi Festival (Festival of Colors) in Hagley Park. This is an ancient Hindu festival still celebrated all over the world. One of the best things about not knowing where everything is in a city is that you run into events that you wouldn’t normally. We ran into urban polo. Everyone was dressed up in nice dresses and suits, while my roommate and I were wearing shorts and t-shirts. Talk about being under dressed! We eventually found the festival, after passing some older gentlemen racing their mechanical mini-sailboats. As soon as we walked in, people started coming up to us and rubbing color all over our faces. Everyone was really friendly and the Zumba dancing was pretty great. We eventually left the festival to wander the botanic gardens. I really don’t think I’ve taken as many flower pictures as I did there nor have I hugged a tree that large before.



Today, we decided to go to the farmers market and wander the city. Our mode of transportation wasn’t the bus this time but scooters. By the time we made it to the Riccarton Sunday Market, we didn’t have much time to look around before it closed. I will definitely be making another visit to see more. In the city we ventured to the Riverside Market, which really isn’t a market at all. It’s basically just a bunch of food stalls in a building. I visited something along the same lines while I was in Norway last summer. This market gave me my second experience with sushi! I haven't eaten it since I was thirteen. As it turns out, I’m a huge fan of all kinds of sushi, from the vegetables to the fish!


Eventually, we made it back to Ilam apartments where I chose to try and make stuffed chicken breasts without an oven. It didn’t turn out how I hoped, but the chicken was REALLY good. Maybe I should find a cooking club to join while I’m here to learn more cultural dishes here? Who knows what I’ll do, but I’ll keep you updated.


Hello

Good Bye

Good Morning

Until we meet again,


Kayla Ragaller

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page