top of page
Search

Break from Reality

This week was fun and stressful all at the same time.


To start off, I should probably talk about how this virus is affecting us here. Thursday, we got the first emails about study abroad students going home. My roommates and I went into a panic because none of us want to leave. We’ve hardly seen anything, and it’s safer here than anywhere else at the moment. If I went home, I’d have to go through four international airports, which isn’t as safe as being on an island with no cases.


It only got worse from there as one of my roommates programs was cancelled. I knew it would only be a matter of time before I heard the same thing. We all started to figure out what we were going to do. All of us realizing we aren’t leaving until we absolutely have too. It’s just a matter of figuring out how to stay.


With all this stress, we decided to get away for the weekend. We drove to the west coast to a town called Hokitika. This is where the jade stone originates from, and they have a beautiful gorge. The gorge literally had to blues water I've every seen! Although the sand flies weren't fun.



From there, we drove back inland to Arthur’s Pass. We camped overnight at the camping grounds, which was really fun. I’ve never been camping before!


This morning we got up and hiked to two waterfalls. The coolness of the water just made me want to jump in!



After that, we decided to not take a steep track up a mountain. We took the Bealey Spur Track, which was still a really good workout.

The track only goes up to a hut, but there’s a trail that goes up to the peak and overlooks the whole park. Hiking is hard on my knees so I stopped at the hut while my three other friends did the steep climb. I effectively took an hour nap in a hammock before we made the trek back down the mountain.


The mountains are a beautiful place to be and fun to hike, but I’ve found the ocean calls to me more. Sorry mom, sorry dad, looks like I’m moving to a coast!


Currently, I don’t know how much longer my trip here is going to last, but I’m going to enjoy every minute of it. So, be ready for some more adventures.


As always,


Hello

Good Bye

Good Morning

Until we meet again,


Kayla Ragaller

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Busy Bee

bottom of page