top of page
Search

A New Journey Awaits

Like every young kid, I’ve dreamed of traveling the world. Coming from a farm in rural Iowa, it was hard to leave the state, much less the country. Going to Iowa State as a Civil Engineering and leadership studies student has given me opportunities I could never imagine.


My first experience abroad was this past summer where I got to explore Stockholm, Sweden with the leadership studies program. I guess you could say I caught the travel but after that. I traveled to Oslo, Norway; Berlin, Germany; and Krakow, Poland. It was a great first experience abroad, especially since it was with a group. I was never alone. If we were confused or lost, we were confused and lost together.


One of the elaborate cobble-stone streets that make up Old Town in Sweden.

New Zealand, on the other hand, is a completely different story. On February 4th, I leave from Omaha, Nebraska and make my way to Christchurch, New Zealand. I’m not looking forward to the 26-hour journey (even though it’s on the shorter side for a trip that far away). What I’m most looking forward to is my end destination at the University of Canterbury where I’ll be studying until the end of June.


How did I choose New Zealand, you ask?


The simple answer is that I didn’t, not really. The trip more or less chose me. My first semester at Iowa State, I went to the study abroad fair. One of my mentors had gone to New Zealand the previous semester, so I instantly gravitated towards her. She showed me pictures and started talking about everything she did there, and I was instantly hooked. There was no if’s, and’s, or but’s about it.

No other place drew me in like New Zealand. Right then and there I decided that’s where I was going to go.


A year later, here I am, finalizing the details and counting down the days until my New Zealand adventure begins.


Hello

Goodbye

Good Morning

Until we meet again,


Kayla Ragaller

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page